Santa Anita kicks off Stronach 5 bet on Friday – Horse Racing News



Turf races from Santa Anita Park and Gulfstream Park, two competitive maiden events and a low 12 percent takeaway will mark the Stronach 5 on Friday.

The popular bet includes races from Santa Anita, Gulfstream and Golden Gate Fields.

The series kicks off at 4:33 ET with Santa Anita’s third race, a $75,000 maiden event for 3-year-old fillies going six furlongs. The nine-horse field includes starters from trainers John Sadler, Michael McCarthy and George Papaprodromou. Loma Vista makes her second start for trainer Philip D’Amato after finishing sixth on the turf against the first special weight company in October.

The second leg of the series shifts to Gulfstream and Race Ninth, an optional 5 ½ furlong claims event for fillies and mares. American, of course, comes in third against similar after a four-month hiatus for trainer Kathleen O’Connell. Rakasa is the first to go out on a claim for trainer Aubrey Maragh, who has a 25 percent discount on a claim. Dominate is also the first to go out on a claim for trainer Jose D’Angelo, who is 31 percent on a claim.

Golden Gate’s third race is next, a first six furlong event for fillies and mares with a field of nine. Leading trainer Jonathan Wong sends out Feel This Moment, fifth in her debut on December 11. Here Comes Ralphie takes a drop-in class for trainer Steve Sherman. The filly makes her first start since March and comes out of a ‘bullet’ work in the race. Lady Skywalker puts on blinders, Sugar Plum has blinders off.

It’s back to Santa Anita for Race 4, a 1/8-mile grass race for a $50,000 girl for 4-year-olds and older. Notngoodcomseasy is dating trainer Doug O’Neill. Medaglia d’Oro’s son ran out of space when he finished fifth with three lengths on the turf. Street Ruckus returns to the turf where he finished fourth in October, beating two lengths. Vladimir Cerin trains. Hulk, 0-for-3 on the grass, gets John Velazquez in the saddle for trainer Jeff Mullins. World Cruiser goes out for trainer Eddie Truman after finishing second on the turf in November at Del Mar.

The Stronach 5 will conclude with Gulfstream’s 10th race, a 1 1/16 mile grass race for 4-year-olds and up with a $35,000 claim tag. The field of nine includes Alley Oop Johnny, who is the first to go out of the claim for trainer Mike Maker after finishing fourth on the turf on Dec. 2 at Aqueduct. Stakes winner Archer Road is going out for the second time after a two-year layoff. Head Coach Saffie Joseph Jr. sends Hail to the Chief, third in his last two starts by less than two lengths against comparable company. Stirling Drive will first assume the claim for trainer Dany Gargan after finishing third in November at Del Mar.

Friday’s races and order

Leg One – Santa Anita Race 3: (9 entries, 6 furlongs) 4:33 ET, 1:33 PT
Stage Two – Gulfstream Race 9: (9 entries, 5 ½ furlongs) 4:42 ET, 1:32 PT
Stage Three – Golden Gate Race 3: (9 entries, 6 furlongs) 4:59 ET, 1:59 PT
Stage Four – Santa Anita Race 4: (8 entries, 1 1/8 mile grass) 5:04 ET, 2:04 PT
Leg Five – Gulfstream Race 10: (9 entries, 1 1/16 mile grass) 5:14 ET, 2:14 PT

Fans can watch and bet on the action at 1/ST.COM/BET and stream all the action in English and Spanish at LaurelPark.com, SantaAnita.com, GulfstreamPark.com and GoldenGateFields.com.

The minimum bet on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the following Friday.

If a change to the race surface is made after the bet has closed, any selection on a ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a bet interest is scratched, that selection will be replaced by the favorite in the win pool when the bet closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club hosts the Stronach 5.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.