King debuts, Perry is left out in Ashes opener

Alana King handed over Aussie cap for Ashes opener

Alana King makes her international debut, Grace Harris plays her first game for Australia in over five years and Ellyse Perry has been left out of the XI for the Ashes opener in Adelaide opener

Australia will pitch first in the first T20I at Adelaide Oval after captain Meg Lanning wins the toss.

Australia XI: Alyssa Healy (World Cup), Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Rachael Haynes, Ashleigh Gardner, Grace Harris, Nicola Carey, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Megan Schutt, Tayla Vlaeminck

England XI: Danni Wyatt, Tammy Beaumont, Heather Knight (c), Nat Sciver, Amy Jones (World Cup), Sophia Dunkley, Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Sarah Glenn, Sophie Ecclestone, Freya Davies

Harris was promoted to Australia’s Ashes team after Beth Mooney broke her jaw during practice on Monday night, and will play her first international since a 2016 ODI series against South Africa.

Lanning has been listed to open with Alyssa Healy in place of the absent Mooney, with Harris named at No. 6.

King was awarded the No.57 T20I cap by Australian assistant coach Shelley Nitschke; the Big Bash coach of the leg spinner in Perth Scorchers.

The 26-year-old won the battle for the empty leg spinner position in the Australia XI ahead of local hero Amanda-Jade Wellington, and is one of four spin options alongside left-armer Jess Jonassen – who is playing her first international since last April after returning from injury – and off spinners Ashleigh Gardner and Harris.

They join a four-man pace attack with the fiery pace of Tayla Vlaeminck, all-rounders Tahlia McGrath and Nicola Carey, and the swing of Megan Schutt, who also returns to the Australia XI after missing out on last year’s India series due to parental leave.

Australia had indicated that they had plenty of T20 talent, and a desire to place high-profile hitters in the middle ranks could lead to the ICC’s T20 Player of the Decade and 126-game veteran of the ICC being out of action. .

Perry missed this week’s warm-up matches against Australia A after it was revealed she had contracted COVID-19 earlier this month and didn’t join the squad until Tuesday.

The selection pressure was created in part by the excellent form of Tahlia McGrath, who made her T20 debut against India last October in place of the injured Rachael Haynes.

In all, Australia have made five changes to their most recent T20 XI, with Haynes, Schutt, Jonassen and Harris welcome at the introduction of King, replacing the injured trio of Mooney, Sophie Molineux (foot) and Georgia Wareham, alongside Perry and Annabel Sutherland.

The multi-format Ashes are determined by a points system and include three T20s, one Test and three ODIs.

Australia has held the trophy since 2015, and crushed England on home soil in 2019 by winning 12-4.

‘They’re the best for a reason’: Aussies ready to take on English Ashes stars

England have made one change to their most recent T20I XI – a match against New Zealand last September – with Freya Davies replacing the speedy Tash Farrant.

“We underperformed massively, we weren’t playing anywhere near our potential,” captain Heather Knight said on Wednesday.

“Everything we’ve done since then has been about addressing that.

“When you have such a great loss, it’s just a little bit of soul searching and (thinking about) what you can do better.

“Also try to remember what you did well…that we built as a group.”

Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes v England

Australia Ashes Squad: Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (vc), Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland , Tayla Vlaeminck

England Ashes squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver (vc), Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers , Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt

January 20: First T20, Adelaide Oval, 7:10 PM AEDT

Jan 22: Second T20, Adelaide Oval, 2:10 PM AEDT

January 23: Third T20, Adelaide Oval, 2:10 PM AEDT

January 27-30: Test Match, Manuka Oval, 10 a.m. AEDT,

February 3: First ODI, Manuka Oval (D/N), 2:10 PM AEDT

February 6: Second ODI, Junction Oval, 10:05 AM AEDT

February 8th: Third ODI, Junction Oval, 10:05 AM AEDT

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.