A big double for Shahan in National Car Racing Championship

Shahan Ali Mohsin, the 17-year-old from Agra, further underlined his status as a top racing talent with a grand double when the curtains fell on the third round of the 2021 MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Car Racing Championship at MMRT here on Saturday.

Shahan won the first and third races in the main MRF F1600 category with local veteran Deepak Ravikumar taking best in the second in a day of incidents where Arjun Balu (Race Concepts) of Coimbatore also survived a couple of close calls to take the Indian Touring Cars race to win.

The two wins put Shahan within 13 points of leader Chirag Ghorpade in the championship.

Also achieving a double were Varun Anekar (Race Concepts) from Bengaluru in the Indian Junior Touring Cars category and Deepak Ravikumar (Performance Racing) in the Super Stock class.

The results (provisional, all 10 rounds unless otherwise stated):

MRF F1600 (Race-2): 1. Deepak Ravikumar (Chennai) 17 minutes, 01.826 seconds; 2. Rishon Rajeev (Bengaluru) 17:09.895; 3. Dillon Zachariah (Chennai) 17:11.992.

Race-3 (8 laps): 1. Shahan Ali Mohsin (Agra) 13: 31,736; 2. Chirag Ghorpade (Bengaluru) 13: 32,182; 3. Rishon Rajeev (Bengaluru) 13: 34,482.

Indian Touring Cars (Race-2): 1. Arjun Balu (Race Concepts, Coimbatore) 19: 16,528; 2. Ishaan Dodhiwala (Rayo Racing, Hyderabad) 19:19.601; 3. Jeet Jhabach (Rayo Racing, Hyderabad) 19:27,951.

Indian Junior Touring Cars (Race-2): 1. Varun Anekar (Race Concepts, Bengaluru) 19:54,853; 2. Hatim Shabir Jamnagarwala (Performance Racing, Chennai) 20: 24,374; 3. Charen Chandran (Pvt, Coimbatore) 20:32,696.

Super Supply (Race 2): 1. Deepak Ravikumar (Performance Racing, Chennai) 20:02.552; 2. RP Rajarajan (Performance Racing, Chennai) 20: 24,719; 3. Hareeshwar Prasad (Race Concepts, Coimbatore) 19:24.976, 9 laps.

Formula LGB 1300 (race-2): 1. Tijil Rao (Momentum Motorsport, Bengaluru) 20:04,385; 2. Viswas Vijayaraj (DTS Racing, Nellore) 20:06.027; 3. Moh. Ryan (MSport, Chennai) 20:06.747.

Volkswagen Polo (Race-2): 1. Pratik Sonawane (Pune) 19: 49,042; 2. Avik Anwar (Bangladesh) 19:55,849; 3. Sandeep Kumar (Chennai) 19:56,439.

(Race-3, 8 laps): 1. Anmol Singh Sahil (Ghaziabad) 15: 51.553; 2. Sourav Bandyopadhyay (Thane) 15:57,720; 3. Sandeep Kumar (Chennai) 16:03.562.

MRF Saloon Cars (Toyota Etios – Race 3, 5 laps): 1. Angad Matharoo (Red Line Racing, Chandigarh) 10:39.105; 2. Fahad Kutty (Red Line Racing, Mumbai) 10:42.183; 3. Commissariat Zahan (Red Line Racing, Mumbai) 10:43,933.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *