Column Ken de la Bastide: Frey, Gordon named to National Sprint Car Hall of Fame | columns

Two names associated with the Little 500 at Anderson Speedway have been inducted into the 2022 class in the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame.

While both Bob Frey and Eric Gordon have clearly dominated the record book for the Little 500, their achievements in open-wheel racing at the national level are significant.

Bob Frey is a five-time winner of the Little 500 and drives for several teams, but especially for legendary car owner Glen Niebel in the famous V6.

His most impressive win over Anderson was probably in 1989, when he came back after seven laps to take it all.

Frey started 12 Little 500 races and recorded nine top-10 finishes.

Eric Gordon won the Little 500 nine times in 26 career starts and finished second in the 1989 USAC National Sprint Car standings. Gordon has posted 16 top-five finishes.

His battles with fellow inductee Robbie Stanley were epic over the next two years as he also finished second those seasons.

Gordon took 13 wins in the USAC competition.

It was always exciting to see both Frey and Gordon mastering the Little 500 through traffic and winning pit strategy.

Another Little 500 entrant, Tony Stewart, who won the rookie of the year in Anderson, is one of the nominees for his outstanding career in USAC before moving on to IndyCar and NASCAR.

He was the first driver to win the USAC Triple Crown in a single season and has also won the World of Outlaws, All Stars and several other series.

All three deserve the credit, but it was particularly heartwarming to see Frey and Gordon’s record at the Little 500 noticed in their introduction.

Last week, Anderson Speedway officials announced an agreement with Internet service provider Racing America to broadcast 12 events from the local track.

The broadcasts include the 56th edition of the Greg Hubler Automotive Group Redbud 400, the Vores Compact Touring Series, National Crown, Outlaw Late Models and other local division events.


• It was great to hear that Tony Kanaan is returning to the Indianapolis 500 in pursuit of that second career win.

• As of last week, there are 16 teams committed to running the entire inaugural 500 Sprint Car tour with races at Anderson, Indianapolis Raceway Park and Plymouth Speedway in Indiana.

Car owner Jerry Powell plans to enter cars for Elwood driver Jacob McElfresh and Ohio rookie Larry Kingseed Jr.

Alexandria resident Rob Keesling is one of those planning to run the entire scheme.

Others include Tyler Roahrig, Kyle O’Gara, Dalton Armstrong, Bobby Santos III, Billy Wease, and Davey Hamilton Jr.

To follow Know of the Bastide on Twitter @KendelaBastide, or call 765-640-4863.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.