Main Event Speed ​​​​Chess Championship 2021: All Information

GM Hikaru Nakamura won the main event of the Blitz Championship 2021 on December 19—winning his fourth consecutive title. Nakamura defeated GM Wesley So in the final with a dominant score of 23-8.

The event ran from November 8 – December 19, 2021 and had a $100,000 prize money.

All the information you need to know about this lightning fast event can be found below.


players

2021 Speed ​​Chess Championship Main Event Hikaru Nakamura

Fabiano Caruana Speed ​​Chess Championship 2021

Main Event Blitz Championship 2021 Ding Liren

2021 Speed ​​Chess Championship Main Event Anish Giri

Speed ​​Chess Championship 2021 Alexander Grischuk . Main Event

Main Event Blitz Championship 2021 Wesley So

Speed ​​Chess Championship 2021 Maxime Vachier-Lagrave . Main Event

Speed ​​Chess Championship 2021 Levon Aronian Main Event

Speed ​​Chess Championship 2021 Main Event Shakhriyar Mamedyarov

2021 Speed ​​Chess Championship main event Peter Svidler

Main Event Speed ​​Chess Championship 2021 Jan-Krzysztof Duda

Main Event Blitz Championship 2021 Daniil Dubov

Main Event Blitz Championship 2021 Richard Rapport

Main Event Blitz Championship 2021 Jeffery Xiong

Speed ​​Chess Championship 2021 Alexey Sarana Main Event

Main Event Blitz Championship 2021 Nihal Sarin

Main Event Field for 2021 Speed ​​Chess Championship

* Report replaced the original number two seed GM Alireza Firouzja.

parenthesis

2021 SCC Nakamura So

Scheme

The 2021 Speed ​​Chess Championship Main Event kicked off on November 8. With the start of the 2021 FIDE World Chess Championship, the Speed ​​Chess Championship schedule was built around World Championship off-days.

Date Time Round Player 1 Player 2
Nov 8 9am PST / 6pm CET Round of 16 Anish Giri Jan-Krzysztof Duda
Nov 9 4am PST/1pm CET Round of 16 Shakhriyar Mamedyarov Thing Liren
November 10 9am PST / 6pm CET Round of 16 Richard Report Alexey Saranan
Nov 11 7:30 AM PST / 4:30 PM CET Round of 16 Alexander Grischuk Nihal Sarin
Nov 11 11:30am PST / 8:30pm CET Round of 16 Levon Aronian Daniil Dubov
Nov 12 9am PST / 6pm CET Round of 16 Hikaru Nakamura Peter Svidler
Nov 15 9am PST / 6pm CET Round of 16 Wesley So Jeffery Xion
Nov 29 10:00 a.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CET Round of 16 Maxime Vachier-Lagrave Fabiano Caruna
Dec 2 7am PST / 4pm CET Quarter-finals Richard Report Nihal Sarin
Dec 6 06:00 PST / 15:00 CET Quarter-finals Thing Liren Levon Aronian
Dec 6 10:00 a.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CET Quarter-finals Hikaru Nakamura Anish Giri
Dec 9 10:00 a.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CET Quarter-finals Wesley So Fabiano Caruna
Dec 13 13:00 PST/22:00 CET Semi-finals Wesley So Nihal Sarin
December 16 14:30 PST/23:30 CET Semi-finals Hikaru Nakamura Thing Liren
Dec 19 10:00 a.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CET Last Hikaru Nakamura Wesley So

The 2021 Main Event Speed ​​Chess Championship final was on December 19.

2021 Speed ​​Chess Championship Main Event Schedule

Format

The Main Event was a single-elimination knockout tournament.

The time checks were:

  • 90 minutes of 5+1 blitz
  • 60 minutes of 3+1 blitz
  • 30 minutes 1+1 bullet

If a match was tied after the 30 minute round, four additional games were played with the same 1+1 time control. If the score was tied there was a single armageddon tiebreaker game, with white given five minutes and black four minutes with draw odds (ie black promoted if the game was a tie). There was no increase in armageddon game, and the player with the higher Chess.com blitz rating chooses which suit is played in it.

2021 Main Event Speed ​​Chess Championship Format

prize fund

Each match winner in any given stage earned:

  • Round of 16: $2,000
  • Quarter-finals: $3,000
  • Semifinals: $6,000
  • Grand Final: $10,000

In addition, the following amounts were allocated based on the players’ win percentage at the end of the round.

  • Round of 16: $2,000
  • Quarter-finals: $3,000
  • Semifinals: $6,000
  • Grand Final: $10,000

For example, if a player won in the semifinals with a score of 15-10 (60%), he would receive $6,000 for winning the semifinal and an additional $3,600 (60% of $6,000) based on the win percentage. The loser received the remaining $2,400.

Prizes Main Event Speed ​​Chess Championship 2021

Total prize money per round

  • Round of 16: $32,000
  • Quarter-finals: $24,000
  • Semifinals: $24,000
  • Grand Final: $20,000
  • BIG TOTAL: $100,000

Broadcast

Chess.com broadcast the 2021 Speed ​​Chess Championship Main Event on all of its platforms, including Twitch, YouTube, ChessTV and Chess.com/Events. Chess.com’s chief commentator, GM Daniel Naroditsky, commented, along with GM Robert Hess and GM Aman Hableton.

Past winners

2017: GM Magnus Carlsen

2018: GM Hikaru Nakamura

2019: GM Hikaru Nakamura

2020: GM Hikaru Nakamura

Speed ​​Chess Championship Past winners

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.