No. 1 Men’s Swimming & Diving Scores 12 Wins on Day One of TCU Dual

Austin, Texas – No. 1 Texas Men’s Swimming and Diving took 12 wins against TCU on Senior Day at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center Friday afternoon to build a 189-100 lead on day one of the two-day dual meet.

The Longhorns were tempered by senior Cameron Auchinachie’s wins in the 50 free (19.74) and 100 free (43.32), junior Caspar Corbeau’s victories in the 100 breaststroke (52.77) and 200 breaststroke (1:53.50), and sophomore Noah Duperres double in the springboard competitions of 1 meter (373.58) and 3 meters (408.90).

All told, Texas claimed points for the top two places in 11 of the 14 individual events and had the top three scores in nine.


  • Texas opened the session with a sweep of the 200 medley relay with freshmen Anthony Grimm, crow, senior Alvin Jiang and senior Daniel Kruger set the fastest time of 1:25.28.
  • The Longhorns went 1-2-3 in the 1,000 free, led by freshmen Luke Hobson’s time of 8:48.09, followed by David Johnston at 8:48.28 and Coby Coach at 8:55.73.
  • Junior Peter Larson registered a 1:34.96 to win the 200 free and Drew Kibler swam 1:35.65 to second place.
  • Senior Jason Park took back the 100 (47.04), followed by sophomore Chris O’Connor (47.55), Jiang (47.74) and freshman Nathan Quarterman (49.17).
  • In the 100 breaststroke, Corbeau and senior Charlie Scheinfeld (53.44) claimed the first two places.
  • The 200 fly had four Longhorns up front, led by sophomores Carson Foster’s grade of 1:41.79 and followed by senior Andrew Koustik (1:44.67), junior Cole Crane (1:44.70) and junior Sam Artmann (1:44.79).
  • Auchinachie and Krueger finished 1-2 in both the 50 free and 100 free, with a time of 19.92 and 43.55 for Krueger respectively, while Kibler finished third in the 100 free with a time of 44.59.
  • Duperre’s double wins marked the springboards. In the 1 meter springboard, sophomore Brendan McCourt finished second with 361.64 points and senior Andrew Do-Parigini third with 349.73 points. The 3 meter springboard had junior Andrew harness finished second with 399.83 points, while Gawin-Parigini collected 378.00 points for another third place.
  • O’Connor won the 200 back with a time of 1:44.30, with Hobson (1:45.31), Quarterman (1:47.42) and Carman (1:49.45) claiming two, three and four places respectively.
  • Caspar triumphed in the 200 breaststroke with junior Jake Foster and senior Braden Vines respectively second and third finish and junior Paul Degrado make a fourth claim.

The competition resumes Saturday at 11 a.m. with long-lane swimming events and a men’s and women’s platform exhibition.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *