Second T20 left after Vlaeminck injury was revealed

Australia lost Tayla Vlaeminck to a foot injury before rain ruined the second Ashes T20I at Adelaide Oval on Saturday.

Only 4.1 overs were possible before umpires called off the game – England openers Danni Wyatt and Tammy Beaumont reached 0-25 at the time – with the teams taking one point each.

The game had already been reduced to 14 overs per side after a delayed start.

More worrying for Australia is the injury to Vlaeminck’s right foot.

The fast bowler was spotted wearing a ‘moon boot’ on Saturday before the game and it’s the same foot that sustained Vlaeminck a stress fracture ahead of the 2020 T20 World Cup, an injury that not only banned her from the ICC tournament but the 10 months that followed. .

A statement from Cricket Australia said the 23-year-old Victorian was being assessed, with updates to follow, and the Australian camp will desperately hope it’s not a repeat of the same coffin bone injury.

Aussies take the first points on the back of McGrath magic

“It came from the first game and we are still assessing how it is and what exactly is going on,” captain Meg Lanning said after the game.

“So we’ll know a little more in the coming days, but obviously it’s not ideal.

“Tay is putting on a pretty brave face…I spoke to her today and it’s hard to read right now and we’ll know some more information the next day.”

The third Ashes T20I will be played on Sunday but the outlook looks equally bleak with 5-20mm of rain forecast in the South Australian capital.

McGrath looks back on ‘pretty special’ home debut

The one-time test starts on January 27 at Manuka Oval.

Vlaeminck missed Australia’s one-off test against India earlier this summer after an Achilles tendon complaint.

Australia is already missing three key players with leg spinner Georgia Wareham (ACL), left arm Orthodox bowler Sophie Molineux (foot) and batter Beth Mooney (jaw) all sidelined through injury.

Mooney, who underwent surgery on a broken jaw on Tuesday, was back in the Adelaide Oval nets on Friday with soft throwdowns.

Australia continues to hope that the batter will return at some point in this Ashes series, but has no clear timeline for her return yet.

“She has taken the whole situation very well… there is no real rush in her return to the squad, it is when she feels comfortable and ready,” Lanning said of Mooney.

Molineux is expected to recover from a stress fracture to her foot in time for the ODI World Cup in February and March, but Wareham will be out until at least next summer.

Fellow speedster Darcie Brown was named in the Australia XI in place of Vlaeminck on Saturday, in the only change to the home side.

England also made a change, with off-spinner Charlie Dean making her T20I debut in place of Maia Bouchier.

Australia has a 3-1 lead in the Ashes, with each of the three T20s and three ODIs worth two points each.

Australia XI: Alyssa Healy (wk), Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Rachael Haynes, Ashleigh Gardner, Grace Harris, Nicola Carey, Jessica Jonassen, Alana King, Darcie Brown, Megan Schutt

England XI: Tammy Beaumont, Danni Wyatt, Nat Sciver, Heather Knight (c), Amy Jones (wk), Sophia Dunkley, Katherine Brunt, Charlie Dean, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Freya Davies

Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes v England

Australia Ashes Squad: Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (vc), Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland , Tayla Vlaeminck

England Ashes squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver (vc), Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers , Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt

Australia leads the multi-format series 2-0

January 20: Australia won by nine wickets

Jan 22: Second T20, Adelaide Oval, 2:10 PM AEDT

January 23: Third T20, Adelaide Oval, 2:10 PM AEDT

January 27-30: Test Match, Manuka Oval, 10 a.m. AEDT,

February 3: First ODI, Manuka Oval (D/N), 2:10 PM AEDT

February 6: Second ODI, Junction Oval, 10:05 AM AEDT

February 8th: Third ODI, Junction Oval, 10:05 AM AEDT

Australia A v England A

Australia A selection: Georgia Redmayne (c), Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns (OD only), Stella Campbell, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff, Heather Graham, Phoebe Litchfield, Katie Mack (OD only), Courtney Sippel, Molly Strano (OD only), Elyse Villani , Georgia Voll, Courtney Webb, Amanda-Jade Wellington

England A-selection: Emily Arlott, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Alice Davidson-Richards, Georgia Elwiss, Kirstie Gordon, Eve Jones, Beth Langston, Emma Lamb, Bryony Smith, Ellie Threlkeld, Issy Wong

January 20: Australia A won by three wickets

21st of January: Australia A won by 10 wickets

January 23: Third T20, Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide, 10am AEDT

January 28: First OD, Philip Oval, Canberra, 10am AEDT

January 30: Second OD, Philip Oval, Canberra, 10am AEDT

February 2: Third OD, Philip Oval, Canberra, 10am AEDT

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.