Over $3M in Conservation Grants Awarded – Picayune Item

At its regular meeting on Jan. 22, the Mississippi Department of Archives and History (MDAH) Board of Trustees awarded more than $3 million on behalf of the Community Heritage Preservation Grant Program to eighteen conservation and restoration projects across the state. The Community Heritage Preservation Grant program, authorized and funded by the Mississippi Legislature, helps preserve and restore historic courthouses and schools in certified local government communities and other historic properties.

“The legislature has saved hundreds of important properties in Mississippi through this program,” said MDAH Director Katie Blount. “The Department of Archives and History is grateful for the legislature’s support and is pleased to help preserve these local treasures.”

The awards are as follows:

maroon, Natchez, Adams County-$234,192

Porch Columns, Billiard Room and Restoration of Duncan Pavilion

Alcorn County Courthouse, Corinth, Alcorn County- $150,000

Courtroom and interior restoration

Carrollton Water Tower, Carrollton, Carroll County- $47,784

paint over

Chickasaw County Courthouse, Houston, Chickasaw County-$214,690

Replace window

Saenger Theater, Hattiesburg, Forrest County- $250,000

Interior restoration

Holmes County Courthouse, Lexington, Holmes County-$276.630

Restoration of the courtroom on the second floor; re-join masonry

Fulton Grammar School, Fulton, Itawamba County- $93,860

Roof repairs

Jefferson Davis County Courthouse, Prentiss, Jefferson Davis County- $220,800

Roof repairs

Madison County Prison (Old), Canton, Madison-$54,456

Roof and interior repairs

Columbia Waterworks, Columbia, Marion County-$274,027

ADA toilets; HVAC & electrical installation, interior paint

Booker T. Washington School, Philadelphia, Neshoba County- $115, 200

Repair of gym floor and grandstand

Noxubee County Library, Macon, Noxubee County- $80,000

roof restoration; masonry and plaster repairs

McCormick administration building, Senatobia, Tate County- $264,000

Exterior and window restoration; masonry repairs

Bowmar . Primary School, Vicksburg, Warren County-$245,395

Exterior repairs

Warren County Courthouse, Vicksburg, Warren County- $100,000

General on-site drainage repairs; masonry wall stabilization

Edna M. Scott Elementary, Leland, Washington County-$167,920

Exterior repairs; masonry wall stabilization

Wilkinson County Courthouse, Woodville, Wilkinson County- $168,000

Stabilization of the bell tower

Yalobusha County Courthouse, Water Valley, Yalobusha County- $191,275

window restoration

Grant awards are made on a repayable basis upon successful completion of the entire project or upon completion of predefined project phases. Prior to application, all buildings must be designated as Mississippi Landmarks. Only state or municipal governments, school districts, and nonprofit organizations that have been granted Section 501(c)(3) tax exemption by the Internal Revenue Service may submit applications.

To become a certified local government, a community must pass a preservation ordinance that establishes a preservation commission in accordance with federal and state guidelines. Once the commission is established, an application for CLG status can be submitted to the National Park Service through the Mississippi Department of Archives and History. MDAH works closely with local government officials and citizens to help them establish and manage a workable local monument conservation program. For more information about the CLG program, contact Meredith Massey in MDAH’s Historic Preservation Division, at 601-576-6538.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.