Swimming and diving teams organize six events

Swimming and diving for women | 20-10-2021 11:44:00 AM

TROY, NY – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) men’s and women’s swim and dive programs began their seasons on Oct. 9 and will make their home debut at Robison Pool on Saturday, Oct. 30. The Engineers, led by head coaches Shannon O’Brien (swimming) and Maria Coomaraswamy-Falkenstein (diving), have eight double encounters and four invitees scheduled in 2021-22.

Neither the men nor the women competed in 2020-21 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but both had excellent 2019-20 seasons. The men won their fifth consecutive Liberty League Championship — and sixth in the past seven years — while the women won five consecutive doubles before they Megan Beaulieu to the NCAA Championship Meet.

Highlights/comments from the 2021-22 schedule include:

  • Eight double encounters
    • Five at Robison Pool
      • One in October, three in November and one in January
    • Three on the way
      • One in October and two in January
  • invitees
    • MIT Winter Invitational over three days in early December
      • Rensselaer’s fourth performance
        • Men finished third and women fifth in 2019-20
    • RPI Kumpf Invitational at Robison Pool on January 15
      • Also includes Cortland, Ithaca, Skidmore, The College of New Jersey and William Smith
    • RPI Diving Invitational at Robison Pool on February 5
    • Liberty League Championship on February 16-19
  • Three straight home meetings from October 30 to November 13
    • Home opener is October 30 vs. Ithaca (2:00 PM)
    • Hosting Oneonta and Saint Rose on November 7 (1pm)
    • home vs. Vassar on November 13 (13.00)
  • Last home game on January 14 vs. Union (19:00)
    • RPI Kumpf Invitational on January 15 (12:00 PM)
  • Two road dual meetings in January
    • at Skidmore on the 22nd (13.00)
    • in Hamilton on the 29th (1pm)
  • Liberty League Championship at Ithaca College on February 16-19
    • Ten conference schools compete in swimming & diving
      • RPI men are five-time defending champions

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.