2021 All-ACC Volleyball Awards Announced

GREENSBORO, NC (theACC.com) – Atlantic Coast Conference champion Louisville earned two season awards, while Duke, Georgia Tech and North Carolina each claimed another to headline the 2021 All-ACC Volleyball honors announced Monday.

Georgia Tech junior outside hitter Julia Bergmann earned ACC Player of the Year, while Duke senior libero Mackenzie Cole was named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year.

Louisville’s Tori Dilfer was tabbed the ACC Setter of the Year for the second consecutive season, becoming just the second player to garner the award in consecutive years, joining the Cardinals’ Wilma Rivera (2017 and 2018). North Carolina’s Mabrey Shaffmaster was voted the ACC Freshman of the Year.

After leading the Cardinals to a perfect regular season with a 28-0 record and second consecutive outright ACC Championship, Dani Busboom Kelly was named the ACC Coach of the Year for the second straight year and second time in her career.

ACC season awards, as well as the All-ACC teams, were determined by a vote of the league’s 15 head coaches.

Bergmann leads the ACC and ranks 14th nationally with 4.55 kills per set to lead the high-powered Georgia Tech offense, the nation’s top-ranked team in kills per set with 15.12. She has tallied 450 kills this season, logging 20 or more kills eight times this season, highlighted by a season-high 30 kills against Notre Dame. The Munich, Germany, native was named ACC Player of the Week four times during the season.

Cole is tied for the conference lead with 4.19 digs per set as the Blue Devils’ libero. She has notched double-digit digs in 22 of Duke’s 29 matches, registering 427 total digs on the year. Cole has also contributed 40 service aces, second most in the conference.

With Dilfer running the offense from her setter position, Louisville has compiled the ACC’s best team hitting percentage with a .303 clip, which ranks fourth nationally. The fifth-year setter is averaging 10.67 assists per set for a total of 1,014 assists this season. The Cardinals became the first ACC team to finish the regular season with a perfect record, including non-conference and conference matches.

Shaffmaster has put together a stellar season to lead the Tar Heels, as her 371 kills lead all freshmen in the conference and are the seventh most by any player in the league. She was tabbed ACC Freshman of the Week four times, garnishing the final weekly honor following a career-best 27 kills with a .375 attacking percentage in North Carolina’s season finale against Duke.

Under Busboom Kelly’s direction, Louisville earned the ACC’s first No. 1 ranking in the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Top 25 Poll and the league’s first No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Championship. The Cardinals finished a perfect 18-0 in ACC play, dropping only seven sets in league action. They own seven wins against ranked opponents.

All four award winners were named to the All-ACC Teams with Bergmann and Dilfer earning first-team honors, while Cole and Shaffmaster were second-team selections.

Louisville led all schools with eight student-athletes on the All-ACC Teams, while Florida State and Georgia Tech each had five selections. Twelve of the league’s 15 teams are represented on one of the league’s all-conference teams.

A league record-tying six ACC teams earned spots in the 2021 NCAA Championship, announced Sunday night on the NCAA Selection Show. Louisville earned the conference’s NCAA automatic qualification and is the championship’s overall No. 1 seed. Pitt is the No. 3 seed, while Georgia Tech is the No. 8 seed. The ACC’s three top-eight seeds are the most of any conference. Florida State, Miami and North Carolina all earned at-large bids. The conference also had six teams earn NCAA Selections in 2017.

The first and second rounds will be Dec. 2-4 on campus sites in a single-elimination first-round competition.

2021 ACC Volleyball Awards
Player of the Year: Julia Bergmann, Georgia Tech, Jr., OH
Defensive Player of the Year: Mackenzie Cole, Duke, Sr., L
Setter of the Year: Tori Dilfer, Louisville, Sr., SA
Freshman of the Year: Mabrey Shaffmaster, North Carolina, Fr., OH
Coach of the Year: Dani Busboom Kelly, Louisville

First Team All ACC
Emma Clothier***, Florida State, Jr., MB
Julia Bergmann^***, Georgia Tech, Jr., OH
Mariana Brambilla^****, Georgia Tech, Sr., RS
Matti McKissock***, Georgia Tech, Sr., SA
Anna DeBeer***, Louisville, So., OH
Tori Dilfer^**, Louisville, Gr., S
Anna Stevenson^***, Louisville, Gr., MB
Savannah Vach***, Miami, So., SA
Melissa Evans*****, NC State, Gr., OPP
Serena Gray, Pitt, Sr., MB
Kayla Lund*****, Pitt, Gr., OH
Leketor Member-Meneh, Pitt, Sr., OH
Chinaza Ndee****, Pitt, Sr., RS
Marina Markova, Syracuse, Jr., OH

Second Team All ACC
Mackenzie Cole**, Duke, Sr., L
Morgan Chacon**, Florida State, Jr., OH
Breland Morrissette, Georgia Tech, Sr., MB
Claire Chaussee, Louisville, Sr., OH
Aiko Jones**, Louisville, Jr., OPP
Amaya Tillman***, Louisville, Jr., MB
Elena Scott, Louisville, Fr., L
Angela Grieve, Miami, So., OH
Priscilla Hernandez, Miami, Sr., L
Janice Leao, Miami, Jr., MB
Kaya Merkler**, North Carolina, So., MH
Nia Parker-Robinson, North Carolina, Gr., OH
Mabrey Shaffmaster, North Carolina, Fr., OH
Charley Niego****, Notre Dame, Sr., OH
Polina Shemanova***, Syracuse, Sr., OH
*15 players on the second team due to a tie in the voting

All Freshman Team
Emery Dupes, Florida State, LA
Audrey Koenig, Florida State, OH
Khori Louis, Florida State, MB
Bianca Bertolino, Georgia Tech, OH
Elena Scott, Louisville, L
Peyman Yardimci, Miami, OH
Mabrey Shaffmaster, North Carolina, OH
Jada Allen, NC State, MB
Brooklyn Borum, Virginia, OH

^ denotes unanimous first-team selection
* denotes number of career All-ACC honors


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.