King debuts, Aussies beat first in Ashes Test

Mooney returns as Aussies ponder pace attack on test night

Australia has given a test debut to leg spinner Alana King for the one-off red ball Ashes match at Manuka Oval, in which England won the toss and opted to bowl.

King, who played her first international in the opening T20I a week ago, will become the 181st woman to play Test cricket for Australia, while Australia also shook to let Megan Schutt out of their XI.

Australia XI: Alyssa Healy (wk), Rachael Haynes, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Ashleigh Gardner, Annabel Sutherland, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Darcie Brown

England XI: Lauren Winfield-Hill, Tammy Beaumont, Heather Knight (c), Natalie Sciver, Sophia Dunkley, Amy Jones (wk), Katherine Brunt, Charlie Dean, Anya Shrubsole, Sophie Ecclestone, Kate Cross

The Western Australia and Perth Scorchers spinner was presented with her Baggy Green cap by former Australia leggie – and King’s former Melbourne Stars and Victoria teammate – Kristen Beams.

Australia led the pace and jump of Stella Campbell with King’s wrist spin option, with three changes to the Test XI taking on India on the Gold Coast last September.

Debutant Alana King with father Leroy, mother Sharon and brother Marc //

Campbell, alongside injured Sophie Molineux (foot) and Georgia Wareham (ACL), are the omissions from that pink-ball Test drawn against India.

Rachael Haynes and Jess Jonassen, who both missed that Gold Coast test due to injury or parental leave, will return to the Australia XI alongside the inclusion of King.

Schutt, one of the world’s best pace bowlers, was expected to be hospitalized after missing last year’s pink ball game against India while on maternity leave, but a Cricket Australia spokesperson said she is still under-conditioned after returning from a bout of Covid-19, so she won’t be at risk with three more ODIs to wrap up this multi-format Ashes series, and the ODI World Cup to follow in New Zealand.

Beth Mooney has taken her place in the XI, named at number 3, despite having surgery for a broken jaw nine days ago; the left-hander has three metal plates in her face and is allowed to eat through a straw, but was considered medically fit to play two days before the game.

England, meanwhile, gave a Test debut to off-spinner Charlie Dean.

Dean made her T20I debut in the second game in Adelaide but was unable to bowl with just 4.1 overs before rain ruined the game.

Heather Knight’s side made just one change in the XI playing against India in a one-off test in Bristol last June, with Dean replacing all-rounder Georgia Elwiss.

Speedy Anya Shrubsole appeared to be under an injury after twisting her ankle when playing for Australia A in Adelaide last week, but has recovered enough to take her spot on the England side, picked ahead of limitless fast bowler Lauren Bell who was added to the squad as a cover earlier this week.

Australia go into the Test with a 4-2 lead in the series, and a win in the four-day game will be enough to retain the Ashes, with four points on offer for the winner.

In a draw, the hosts would have to win one of the three ODIs to keep the trophy, while England would have to win all three ODIs.

Both skippers promised an aggressive approach to the game, although the predicted rain could make getting a result within four days a difficult question for both sides.

The bout is captain Meg Lanning’s 150th in charge of Australia as she is only the third woman to reach the milestone across all formats, behind England great Charlotte Edwards and current Indian ODI leader Mithali Raj.

Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes v England

Australia Ashes Squad: Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Stella Campbell, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (vc), Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland

England Ashes squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver (vc), Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers , Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt

Australia leads the multi-format 4-2 . series

January 20: Australia won by nine wickets

Jan 22: No result

January 23: Match Leaving without a ball thrown

January 27-30: Test Match, Manuka Oval, 10 a.m. AEDT,

February 3: First ODI, Manuka Oval (D/N), 2:10 PM AEDT

February 6: Second ODI, Junction Oval, 10:05 AM AEDT

February 8th: Third ODI, Junction Oval, 10:05 AM AEDT

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.