Kansas City, MO – Small College Basketball is pleased to announce the participating teams and schedule for the 2022 Champions Classic. The event is hosted by Northern State University and the games will be held at the Wachs Arena. This inaugural event will take place on November 18-19, 2022. The following teams will participate in the inaugural event: Illinois Wesleyan, Nebraska Wesleyan, St. Joseph, Wisconsin-Oshkosh, Carroll, Morningside, Indiana Wesleyan, Dakota Wesleyan, Queens, Point Loma Nazarene, Northern State and Ferris State. John McCarthy had this to say about the participating teams and matchups:

“What a team of teams for the inaugural SCB Champions Classic! This event will be a great national showcase for college basketball, and we encourage families, fans and media to come to Aberdeen to attend this event in person. This is the dream of a basketball junkie!”

Northern State University’s Barnett Center and Wachs Arena is one of the premier NCAA Division II facilities in the country. The 8,000-seat arena includes an in-ground wooden floor installed in 2019, a center-hung digital video board/scoreboard, and digital score table displays. Installed by Daktronics, the scoreboard is the largest collegiate center-hung video display system in the state of South Dakota. McCarthy added this about the Champions Classic:

“It’s so exciting to bring the SCB Champions Classic to life, and I’m very grateful for the partnership with Northern State University. NSU has led the small college basketball presence for 13 consecutive years and Aberdeen’s community has a passionate fan base Wachs Arena will be a great venue for this event, and we are so excited to bring some of the very best teams in NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and the NAIA to one venue for a national showcase for college basketball.”

The event includes six games on Friday and Saturday. Below are the matchups for this year’s event. For more information about the Champions Classic and Small College Basketball, visit

Friday November 18

10:00 Illinois Wesleyan vs. Nebraska Wesleyan

12:00 St Joseph vs. Wisconsin-Oshkosh

2:00 Carroll vs. Morningside

4:00 Indiana Wesleyan vs. Dakota Wesleyan

6:00 Queens vs. Point Loma Nazarene

8:00 Northern State vs. Ferris State

Saturday 19 November

10:00 Wisconsin-Oshkosh vs. Nebraska Wesleyan

12:00 St Joseph vs. Illinois Wesleyan

2:00 Indiana Wesleyan vs. Morningside

4:00 Carroll vs. Dakota Wesleyan

6:00 Queens vs. Ferris State

8:00 Northern State vs. Point Loma Nazarene

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.