Tata Motors becomes title sponsor of Maharashtra Open tennis tournament

NEW DELHI: Tata Motors has extended its partnership with the Tata Open Maharashtra tennis tournament for its fourth year and will become the title sponsor this year. The tournament, scheduled to take place from January 31 to February 6 at Balewadi Stadium, is the only ATP (Association of Tennis Professionals) tournament in South Asia and India’s oldest international sporting event.

Rajan Amba, vice president, sales, marketing and customer service for passenger cars at the company, said India has a great sporting culture and the company is delighted to be back as the title sponsor of the Open for the fourth consecutive year. “We are confident we can derive tremendous value from this association and hope to share the joy of watching great tennis as always during this tournament.”

Organized by the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association and licensed by Rise World, the prestigious IMG tournament was also supported by Tata from 2002-2004 when it was held in Chennai.

The group offered to support the event again after it moved to Pune in 2018 and the partnership has grown stronger ever since.

“The tournament has always attracted top players every year and boasts a history spanning 25 years of world class tennis hosted, played and followed in India by tennis fans. We are delighted that Tata Motors has expanded their support for this tournament since it moved to Pune in 2018. The tournament and the group share a rich legacy and we are extremely grateful for their continued involvement and being part of this journey,” said Prashant Sutar, the tournament director.

This year, nine players from the top 100 will compete. The draw is headed by the world’s number 15, Russian Aslan Karatsev, who was named ATP’s most improved player of the year in 2021 and recently won the Sydney Tennis Classic title by beating Andy Murray.

From India, Yuki Bhambri will play in singles, while Rohan Bopanna and Ramkumar Ramanathan have secured direct entry in doubles.

Historically, India’s only ATP event has featured the world’s top players such as Rafael Nadal, Stan Wawrinka, Marin Cilic, Carlos Moya, Pat Rafter and their ilk alongside India’s top guns, Somdev Devvarman, and the double icons Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi.

The fourth edition of the tournament is all set to return after a one-year hiatus due to the pandemic. The preliminary rounds are scheduled for January 30-31, while the main draws will start on February 1.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Please enter a valid email address

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story again! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our app now!!


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.