Irish rugby | Ireland Sevens Squads set for World Series action in Seville

The Irish men’s and women’s sevens selections are back in HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series action from Friday, as the 2022 season rolls into Seville for the fourth leg.

After a stellar fifth place finish in Malaga last weekend, Ireland Women are offering to build on that achievement when they kick off the tournament against Poland at Estadio La Cartuja de Sevilla on Friday morning (11am Irish time).

Aiden McNulty‘s side produced an impressive display last time and with Captain Lucy Mulhall, Beibhinn Parsons and Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe Ireland will be at the forefront trying to grow further on the world stage. Their second group B outing is against Brazil on Friday afternoon at 4.38 pm, before they face Russia on Saturday at 11.13 am.

Ireland Men have meanwhile been paired in Group B alongside Germany, Jamaica and Argentina. Anthony EddieThe charges began their campaign against Germany at 2:55 p.m. Friday, before facing Jamaica and Argentina on Saturday.

You can watch all the action on the World Rugby YouTube channel and here.

Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad:

Kathy Baker (Black Rock College RFC)
Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union RFC)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union RFC)
Katie Heffernan (Mullingar RFC/Railway Union RFC)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC)
Brittany Hogan (Ballynahinch RFC/Old Belvedere RFC)
Erin King (Old Belvedere RFC)
Emily Lane (Black Rock College RFC)
Kate Farrell McCabe (Suttonians RFC)
Anna McGann (Railway Union RFC)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC) (Captain)
Beibhinn Parsons (Blackrock College RFC).

Ireland Men’s Sevens Squad:

Tamilore Awonusi (IQ rugby)
Niall Comerford (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Sean Cribbin (Suttonians RFC)
Sean Kearns (Ireland Sevens)
Jack Kelly (Dublin University FC)
Ed Kelly (Dublin University F.C.)
Terry Kennedy (RFC St Mary’s College)
Bryan Mollen (Blackrock College RFC) (Captain)
Conor Phillips (Young Munster/Munster)
Mark Roche (Lansdowne FC)
Tom Roche (Lansdowne FC)
Andrew Smith (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
Zac Ward (Ballynahinch RFC).

Ireland Sevens Schedule, Malaga:

Friday January 28:

  • Ireland Women v Poland (11am Irish time)
  • Ireland Men v Germany (2.55pm Irish time)
  • Ireland Women v Brazil (4:38 PM Irish time)

Saturday January 29:

  • Ireland Men v Jamaica (9:13am Irish time)
  • Ireland Women v Russia (11.13am Irish time)
  • Ireland Men v Argentina (3:03 PM Irish time)

Sunday January 30:

Playoff matches.

Previous story
Six Nations and TikTok Announce Milestone Partnership

Next story
Lyttle reaches 50 caps milestone for Ulster

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.