UNC women’s tennis captures third straight ITA National Team Indoor Title

The UNC women’s tennis team joined some elite company as they captured their third straight ITA National Team Indoor Championship.

There have been just two programs in collegiate women’s tennis history that have won three consecutive ITA National Team Indoor championships.

Stanford was the first to accomplish the feat, as they won three straight titles between 2004-2006. The other program, you ask? Well, it’s none other than the UNC women’s tennis program.

the no. 2-ranked lady Tar Heels have completed the three-peat, as they defeated No. 8 Oklahoma in comeback fashion at Wisconsin’s Nielson Center. With the victory, the UNC women’s tennis program has won four titles in the last five years, and have also captured six championships over the past decade.

Although they completed the comeback, it wasn’t easy for North Carolina by any means.

For the second time in a span of three days, the Tar Heels trailed after doubles. Heading into the six singles matches, North Carolina needed to win four of those matches to keep the championship streak alive.

Things got worse before they got better for the Tar Heels, as they won just two of the first sets among the six matches. Elizabeth Scotty and Fiona Crawley were the lady Tar Heels that won their respective first sets, and both matches ended in victories for North Carolina.

The other Tar Heels had to battle from behind, as all four of the other matches went into a decisive third set. With the Sooners still battling for the title, it was freshman Carmen Tanguilig and junior Anika Yarlagadda who sealed the victory with back-to-back wins.

Here are the matches that took place in the national title match, courtesy of GoHeels.com:

Singles competition
no. 1 — #4 Cameron Morra (UNC) vs. #15 Layne Sleeth (OU) 2-6, 6-1, 1-5, unfinished
no. 2 — #27 Elizabeth Scotty (UNC) final #35 Carmen Corley (OU) 6-2, 6-1
no. 3 — #57 Ivana Corley (OU) final #7 Reilly Tran (UNC) 6-2, 4-6, 6-4
no. 4 — #19 Fiona Crawley (UNC) final #88 Anchisa Chanta (OU) 6-4, 6-4
no. 5 — #14 Carson Tanguilig (UNC) def. Sasha Pisareva (OU) 3-6, 6-4, 6-1
no. 6 — #74 Anika Yarlagadda (UNC) def. #103 Emma Staker (OU) 4-6, 6-3, 6-3

Order of Finish: 2, 4, 3, 5, 6

Doubles competition
no. 1 — #11 Corley/Corley (OU) final #1 Fiona Crawley/Elizabeth Scotty (UNC) 6-3
no. 2 — #47 Sleeth/Pisareva (OU) final #21 Cameron Morra/Carson Tanguilig (UNC) 6-2
no. 3 — #26 All Sanford/Reilly Tran (UNC) vs. Chanta/Staker (OU) 3-5, unfinished

Order of Finish: 1, 2

Of course, the celebration was on, and social media was quick to react to yet another North Carolina national championship. The official Go Heels Twitter account was absolutely ready to update their video of banners for every national championship team to include the lady Tar Heels most recent accomplishment:

As always, Monday was a great day to be a Tar Heel, as the UNC women’s tennis program continues to be a national powerhouse throughout the sport.

Continue to follow the Keeping It Heel team for all the latest news and updates regarding the UNC women’s tennis program.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.