Student-Athletes Celebrated at Sixth Annual Scholar-Athlete Luncheon

ITHACA, N.Y. – The Ithaca College Department of Athletics, in conjunction with the Office of the Provost, hosted its sixth annual scholar-athlete luncheon on Thursday, March 10. The luncheon was held in Emerson Suites on campus to celebrate the exceptional achievements for current junior, senior, and graduate student athletes.

More than 85 student-athletes from 24 of Ithaca’s 27 sponsored varsity programs received invitations to the ceremony. Each student-athlete that was at the ceremony has obtained a cumulative grade-point average of 3.75 or higher for over five-plus semesters. Deans and faculty advisors of the student-athletes also attended the luncheon on Thursday afternoon.

Associate Director of Athletics, Will Rothermel, and Associate Chair of Physical Therapy and Faculty Athletic Representative, Barb Belyea, spearheaded the initiative to honor the student-athletes’ performances in the classroom, and worked in conjunction with the Provost Office along with President of Ithaca College, Dr. LaJerne Terry Cornish.

Will & Barbara

Rothermel, who will depart from South Hill at the end of the month for his new role of Associate Vice President & Chief Athletics and Recreation Officer at Saint Joseph’s College of Maine was presented with a framed gift of words that represented his impact on the scholar student -athlete during his time here at Ithaca College.

Senior Lee Follower of Ithaca’s men’s soccer program served as the keynote speaker for Thursday’s luncheon. Folger has been a model student-athlete during his time on South Hill, garnering an impressive list of individual accomplishments both in the classroom and on the soccer field.
Lee Follower

Folger concluded his career on South Hill as a four-time Liberty League All-Academic selection and stepped up big-time for the Bombers this past fall. He was apart of seven shutouts this season where he tallied 41 saves and had a sparkling 0.54 goals against average. He had an outstanding Liberty League Championship tournament especially in the semifinals where in penalty kicks, he stopped all three Skidmore attempts that helped send the Bombers into the championship against St. Lawrence. Folger was recognized on the Liberty League Honorable Mention team.

Below is a list of the student-athletes who were recognized at the Sixth Annual Scholar-Athlete Luncheon:

Ally Bukset– Women’s Lacrosse
Andrew Miller– Football
Grace Clark– Women’s Track & Field
Emily Shorbo– Women’s Swimming & Diving
Allison Dell’Orto– Softball
Jaelyn Hershberger– Volleyball
Erika Elcsisin– Sculling
Anna Rubino– Women’s Swimming & Diving
Macy Brandwein– Field Hockey
Andy Frank– Men’s Track & Field
Sarah Sposito– Women’s Tennis
Mackenzie Farrar– Women’s Lacrosse
Jordyn Lyn Hayashi– Volleyball
Grace Collins– Women’s Crew
Sophia Mahoney– Women’s Soccer
Emmy Repetti– Women’s Crew
Zoe Kyriakopoulos– Gymnastics
Katie Champagne– Women’s Swimming & Diving
Rachel Richards– Women’s Soccer
Kennedy Heichel– Women’s Track & Field
Tristen Schiafo– Wrestling
Lindsey Albertelli– Women’s Basketball
Artem Khaybullin– Men’s Tennis
Sarah Kohberger– Women’s Tennis
Katharine Downey– Women’s Track & Field
Zoe Davis– Women’s Tennis
Nicholas Bahamonde– Football
Alex Heuwetter– Women’s Basketball
Sarah Swinnerton– Women’s Swimming & Diving
Theo Summerville– Men’s Swimming & Diving
Max Sobel– Men’s Tennis
Lauren Brady– Women’s Swimming & Diving
Leo Rosenblum– Men’s Cross Country & Men’s Track & Field
Cameryn Nichols– Gymnastics
Abby Marraccino– Women’s Swimming & Diving
Julia O’Sullivan– Gymnastics
Grace Isaksen– Volleyball
Katy Krueger– Women’s Soccer
Luke Bugonia– Men’s Soccer
Sophia Roy– Women’s Cross Country
Rachel Rose– Women’s Cross Country & Women’s Track & Field
Molly MacFarland– Women’s Soccer
Bobby MacInnis– Men’s Crew
Ashton Herd– Football
Brendan Martin– Football
Hannah Leasko– Women’s Soccer
Olivia Rubino– Women’s Swimming & Diving
Alison Lipton– Volleyball
Travis Jones– Wrestling
Tyler Sobel– Wrestling
AJ Wingfield– Football
Derek Slywka– Football
Katelyn Hutchison– Women’s Track & Field
Max Perry– Football
Meghan Matheny– Women’s Track & Field
Jennifer Pitts– Volleyball
Kayla Howley– Women’s Lacrosse
Madison Martinez– Women’s Track & Field
Nya Pauldon– Gymnastics
Ryan Medeiros– Men’s Cross Country & Men’s Track & Field
Matt Crystalr– Men’s Swimming & Diving
Matthew Beyer– Wrestling
Kelly Mehorter– Women’s Lacrosse
Brendan Lebitsch– Men’s Soccer
Gil Merodi– Baseball
Daniella Mulvey– Softball
Zoe Hadley– Women’s Cross Country
Elizabeth Pillow– Field Hockey
Ally Post– Women’s Soccer
Lee Follower– Men’s Soccer
Emily Dorn– Women’s Basketball
Jessica Chiarelli– Women’s Crew
Jacqueline Mirabile– Field Hockey
Shannon Wolfe– Women’s Tennis
Laura Severance– Volleyball
Grace Ziehnert– Field Hockey
Arla Davis– Field Hockey
Shaye McKennan– Football
Rachel Valentine– Sculling
Britain Hodgkins– Women’s Crew
Jacob Cooney– Football
Timothy Cook– Men’s Cross Country & Men’s Track & Field
Zachary Wachs– Men’s Cross Country & Men’s Track & Field
Eliza Worth– Women’s Crew
Sara Brown– Women’s Track & Field
Erin Kiley– Women’s Swimming & Diving
Natalie Smith– Women’s Basketball
Nathaniel Oczkowski– Men’s Track & Field

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.