Swimming and Diving Sweeps NEC Championships

GENEVA, OH- The Bryant men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams both took home team championships on the final day of NEC’s at Spire Institute. The men won for the second consecutive year, while the women won their fifth straight title.

Measure Info

NEC Championships

Spire Institute (Geneva, OH)

Results: Hy-Tek Meet Manager

Notes and Notables (Men)

  • The men’s team dominated the overall standings, outscoring second place Howard 920-638.5. They never trailed at any point in the competition.

  • FuKang Wong was named men’s outstanding swimmer after taking gold in both 100 and 200 breaststroke and the 200 and 400 medley and 800 free relay. He also won silver in 400 free relay and the 200 IM, and set an NCAA B-Cut time in the 100 breast.

  • Ben Prouty was named outstanding diver after sweeping the one and three meter dive gold medals.

  • Conner Lofstrom was named men’s rookie of the meet. He won silver in the 100 free and 400 free relay on Saturday, in addition to silver in 200 free and gold in the 200 and 800 medley relays.

  • Leo Luna took home the men’s first gold on the final night of competition, coming back from five seconds down to win the 1650 free in meet record time.

  • Wong and Calvin Groenewold took home a 1-2 finish in the 200 breast. It was the second time they shared the podium this week after a 1-3 finish in the 100 breast.

Notes and Notables (Women)

  • The women came from behind to win the team title after trailing Central Connecticut for most of the week. They called out the Blue Devils 746-721.

  • Kyri Chambo was named outstanding diver of the meet after winning gold in the three meter and bronze in the one meter dive. It’s her third diver of the meet award in three years.

  • Reagan Lord was named women’s rookie of the meet. She won gold in both 100 and 200 back and the 200 medley relay, and silver in the 400 free relay. She set an NCAA B-Cut time and meet record in the 100.

  • Sammi Grenon, Natalia Kuipers, and Paige Edwards swept the stage in the 1650 free. Grenon took gold with Kuipers winning silver and Edwards bronze.

NEC Outstanding Swimmer
Jeannette King, CCSU

(1st place in 50 & 100 free, 2nd place in 100 back)

NEC Outstanding Diver
Kyri Chambo, BRY

(1st place 3M, 3rd place in 1M)

NEC Rookie of the Meet
Reagan Lord, BRYO

(first place in 100 & 200 back, set two meet records)

NEC Swimming Coaching Staff of the Year

NEC Diving Coaching Staff of the Year
Sacred Heart – Adam Vance

Women’s Team Standings – Final Results

Bryant 746
CCSU 721
LIU 418
Wagner 412.5
Sacred Heart 378.5
Saint Francis U 308
Howard 248
St Francis Brooklyn 197
Mount St Mary’s 166
Merrimack 70
NEC Outstanding Swimmer
FuKang Wong, BRY

(1st place in 100 & 200 breast, 2nd place in 200 IM)

NEC Outstanding Diver
Brendan Prouty, BRY

(1st place 1M & 3M)

NEC Rookie of the Meet
Connor Lofstrom, BRY

(second place in 200 free, 3rd place in 50 free)

NEC Swimming Coaching Staff of the Year
Howard – Nic Askew, Salim King, Dr. Miriam Lynch & Jazmine Payne

NEC Diving Coaching Staff of the Year
Bryant – Trevor Sisson

Men’s Team Standings – Final Results

Bryant 920
Howard 638.5
LIU 550.5
St Francis Brooklyn 446
Mount St Mary’s 431
Wagner 200

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *