Munising, Superior Central split Skyline Central Conference girls basketball awards | News, Sports, Jobs

Munising’s Jenna Matson, left, is guarded by Gwinn’s Lena Pleaugh in a game played at the Modeltowners’ gym on Jan. 4. (Journal photo by Travis Nelson)

The Mustangs and Cougars split the Alger County awards right down the middle, five for each school, after voting by the SCC coaches.

But the biggest award was probably claimed by Munising senior Jenna Matson, who was named both the co-Defensive Player of the Year along with Carney-Nadeau senior Tessa Wagner, and a unanimously chosen member of the league’s First Team.

Two Superior Central players, though, were also double winners — seniors Emma Rutter and Riley Johnson both made the All-Defensive Team, Rutter unanimously, and both also made the league’s First Team.

Also from SC, senior Charlotte Charlebois earned the Free Throw Award.

Munising’s Jenna Matson, below, looks to put up a layup as Carney-Nadeau’s Carley Messersmith, left, and Tessa Wagner defend during the third quarter of an MHSAA Division 4 girls basketball regional semifinal game played March 29, 2021, at Westwood High School. (Journal file photo)

And from Munising, freshman Bailey Corcoran was named to the league’s Second Team, while sophomore teammate Emerson Crisp made Honorable Mention.

In addition, Mustang’s senior Lori Mattson was voted the Individual Sportsmanship Award.

In the team division, Munising won the JV championship in the Large Schools Division.

Other major award winners included Wagner and senior Ashton Hord of North Dickinson sharing the Player of the Year honors, while ND’s Kirk Mattson won the Coach of the Year.

Bark River-Harris won the varsity championship for Large Schools, while CN carried off the same hardware for Small Schools.

And Rapid River earned the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Here are the other league honorees with year and school:

First Team — Cara Zawacki, Sr., Bark River-Harris (unanimous); Andi Carlson, Jr., Norway; Chrislyn Inglese, Sr., North Dickinson; Shea Linder, Jr., Carney-Nadeau; Gracie Peterson, Sr., Forest Park

Second Team — Lauren Zawada, soph., BR-H; Gracie Kleikamp, ​​soph., North Central; Micah Lindholm, Jr., ND; Aspen Fredrick, Sr., BR-H; Megan Dausey, Jr., Rapid River; Grace Maule, fr., CN

Honorable Mention — Mckenzie Hoffmeyer, soph., BR-H; Sam Burton, soph., NC; Vanessa Lindholm, Sr., ND; Averie Popp, sr., Norway; Kassidy Havelka, Jr., Stephenson; Allie Cappaert, Sr., Stephenson

All-Defensive Team – Ashton Hord, ND (unanimous); Cara Zawacki, BR-H (unanimous); Hannah Burklund, Norway (unanimous); Zoe LaBonte, NC; Aspen Fredrick, BR-H; Chrislyn Inglese, ND

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.