NSW Waratah’s name team for Crusaders clash | Latest Rugby News

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Crusaders in Round 11 of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific competition.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman has added four new faces to his starting 15 while making one positional change to the team that went down to the Chiefs last weekend.

Dave Porecki and Tom Horton have both failed to overcome concussion protocols with Mahe Vailanu named to start at hooker.

Rahboni Warren-Vosayco is the only other change to the forward pack and will make his first start of the season after some impressive performances off the bench.

Waratah’s Head Coach Darren Coleman was thrilled with the depth in the team’s back-row.

“We’re excited to see Rahboni get his start, he’s had an injury-affected start to the season and we’ve seen him string three games together off the bench and make a real impact,” Coleman said.

“It’s great to see genuine competition between positions and I see that selection battle continuing.

“This isn’t about dropping Will – he’s played a lot of big minutes over the past ten weeks, so we also see the benefit of decreasing his game time this week and giving him a bit of rest.”

Lalakai Foketi, after missing last weekend with a family bereavement, returns to the starting team and resumes his devastating partnership with Izaia Perese in the midfield.

“We missed Lalakai’s presence down in Melbourne against the Chiefs,” Coleman said

“We’re really happy to see him back and he’ll add an extra dimension to our attack with his ball-playing ability.”

Alex Newsome, who has scored three tries in his past two matches, returns to fullback with Will Harrison ruled out for the season with a knee injury suffered against the Chiefs.

Dylan Pietsch has been recalled to the starting team joining Mark Nawaqanitawase on the wings.

On the bench, James Ramm is in line to play his first match of the Super Rugby Pacific competition after making his way back from injury with Randwick in the Shute Shield last weekend.

The match will also feature a blockbuster schools curtain raiser with St Augustine’s taking on Shore from 2:45pm.

Click here to secure your tickets.


1 Angus Bell (Sydney Uni/ Hunters Hill/ Newington College)

2 Mahe Vailanu (Gordon/Auckland Grammar School)

3 Harry Johnson-Holmes (Sydney Uni/ Cowra Eagles/ Merewether High School)

4 Jed Holloway (Southern Districts/ Yamba Buccaneers/ Waverley College)

5 Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs/ Lindfield/ SHORE)

6 Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs/ Saracens/ St Bede’s College)

7 Michael Hooper (Manly/ Manly Rose/ St Pius College)

8 Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco (Southern Districts/ Endeavor Sports High)

9 Jake Gordon (Sydney Uni/Canterbury/Blackwattle Bay)

10 Tane Edmed (Eastwood/Trinity Grammar)

11 Dylan Pietsch (Randwick/ Leeton Phantoms/ Kings School)

12 Lalakai Foketi (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Kings)

13 Izaia Perese (Randwick/ Aspley State School/ Anglican Church Grammar)

14 Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood/ St Patrick’s College)

15 Alex Newsome (Eastern Suburbs/Glen Innes Elks/St Joseph’s College)


16 TB

17 Te Tera Faulkner (Southern Districts/ Moorabin Rams/ Marist College Canberra)

18 Archer Holz (Eastern Suburbs/ Kings School)

19 Geoffrey Cridge (West Harbour/ Darfield Rugby Club/ Christchurch Boys High)

20 Will Harris (Eastern Suburbs/ Hunters Hill/ Scots College)

21 Jack Grant (Eastern Suburbs/ Orange City Lions/ St Ignatius College)

22 Ben Donaldson (Randwick/ Clovelly Eagles/ Waverly College)

23 James Ramm (Randwick/ Hunters Hill/ St Joseph’s College)

Players unavailable for selection:

Joey Walton – ACL (Season)

Lachlan Swinton – Shoulder (TB)

Will Harrison – ACL, MCL (season)

Players available for Shute Shield

Carlo Tizzano (West Harbour)

Henry Robertson (Sydney Uni)

Hugh Bokenham (Sydney Uni)

Jeremy Williams (Eastern Suburbs)

Langi Gleeson (Manly)

Max Douglas (Manly)

Mosese Tuipulotu (Eastern Suburbs)

Ruan Smith (Hunter)

Tevita Funa (Western Sydney)

Tian Tauakipulu (Randwick)

Triston Reilly (Randwick)

Match Details
NSW Waratahs v Crusaders Saturday 30th April – Leichhardt Oval, Sydney Kick-off 5pm Live on Stan Sport

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.