Pac-12 announces 2022 beach volleyball all conference honors

SAN FRANCISCO – The Pac-12 Conference announced today the Pac-12 Beach Volleyball postseason honors and All-Conference teams for the 2022 season, as determined by a polling of the Conference coaches. USC senior Tina Graudina was voted Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Player of the Year and part of the Pac-12 Pair of the Year, with teammate Hailey Harwardfor a third consecutive time. UCLAs Jessie Smith was voted the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and USC’s Dain Blanton was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year for the first time.

PAC-12 PAIR OF THE YEAR: Tina Graudina, Sr., (Jurmala, Latvia) & Hailey Harward, Gr., (Phoenix, Ariz.), USC

Graudina and Harward paced the top-ranked team in the country and NCAA champion with a 31-1 record on the No. 1 court. After guiding the Trojans to their record fourth NCAA title, the pair was named the AVCA National Pair of the Year. The duo closed the season on a 30-match win streak, the second longest by a pair in school history, and claimed 15 dual-clinching points. They were named to both the NCAA and Pac-12 All-Tournament Teams, the AVCA/ National Pair of the Week on April 4, and claimed Pac-12 Pair of the Week honors twice this season (March 15, April 12 ). They are the fifth USC pair to win the Conference’s Pair of the Year honor, including the third honor for Graudina (2019 with Abril Bustamante, 2021 with Megan Kraft).

PAC-12 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Tina Graudina, Sr., USC (Jurmala, Latvia)

Graudina, also the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year in 2018, collects her third straight Player of the Year honor to become the most decorated individual in the seven-year history of Pac-12 Beach Volleyball. Playing almost exclusively at No. 1, Graudina compiled a 122-9 all-time record as a Trojan, including a 31-1 top-court mark with a 30-match win streak in 2022. Among Graudina’s other 2022 postseason honors were her fourth career AVCA First Team All- America accolade, her fourth AVCA Top Flight honor, and her third NCAA Championship All-Tournament Team recognition following the Trojans’ victory in Gulf Shores.

PAC-12 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Jessie Smith, UCLA (Laguna Niguel, Calif.)

Smith posted an impressive debut season with a 27-11 overall individual record. The freshman shared three different partners across three courts, eventually landing with senior Lea Monkhouse at the No. 3 spot for the final half of the season. Teamed with Monkhouse, the pair compiled a 14-4 record including a 7-2 mark in the postseason, highlighted by an unblemished 4-0 record (with one unfinished dual) in helping the Bruins to a third-place finish at the NCAA Championship and earning themselves a place on the NCAA All-Tournament Team. Smith is the second Freshman of the Year recipient from UCLA, joining inaugural winner Megan McNamara in 2016.


In his third year at the helm, Blanton guided USC through a dominant 37-1 season to collect his first Pac-12 Coach of the Year honor. After splitting their opening two matches, the Trojans streamrolled to 36 consecutive dual victories en route to their fourth Pac-12 and NCAA Championships in program history. Blanton mentored an entire starting lineup of Pac-12 All-Conference performers, including five First Team selections, and 10 AVCA Top Flight honorees as well as four All-Americans, headlined by Pac-12 and AVCA National Pair of the Year Tina Graudina and Hailey Harward†

The coaches also voted on the All-Pac-12 and All-Freshman Teams, which are listed below. The All-Pac-12 Team is comprised of 10 student-athletes on the first team and 10 on the second team. Five student-athletes are also named to the All-Freshman Team.

2022 Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Postseason Honors

Pac-12 Pair of the Year: Tina Graudina and Hailey Harward, USC
Pac-12 Player of the Year: Tina Graudina, USC
Pac-12 Freshman of the Year: Jessie Smith, UCLA
Pac-12 Coach of the Year: Dain Blanton, USC

2022 Pac-12 Beach Volleyball All-Conference Teams

First Team

Name School year hometown
Ana Costa California R-Sr. Sergipe, Brazil
Lexy Denaburg UCLA so. Merritt Island, Fla.
Tina Graudina USC sr. Jurmala, Latvia
Hailey Harward USC Gr. Phoenix, Ariz.
Xolani Hodel Stanford so. Huntington Beach, Calif.
Megan Kraft USC so. San Diego, Calif.
Devon Newberry UCLA so. Santa Monica, Calif.
Julia Scoles USC Gr. Mooresville, NC
Sammy Slater USC Gr. Ventura, Calif.
Abby Van Winkle UCLA Jr. San Clemente, Calif.

Second Team

Name School year hometown
Charlie Ekstrom Stanford sr. San Diego, Calif.
Maya Gessner California so. LaJolla, Calif.
Maddie Kriz Stanford Jr. Austin, Texas
Chloe Loreen Washington sr. Seattle, Wash.
Delaynie Maple USC so. San Diego, Calif.
Mima Mirkovic California R-Sr. Irvine, Calif.
Lea Monkhouse UCLA sr. Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Brooke Nuneviller Oregon Jr. Chandler, Ariz.
Alex Parkhurst Arizona Jr. Tucson, Ariz.
Kate Reilly Stanford so. Manhattan Beach, Calif.

All Freshman Team

Name School hometown
Reagan Hope Oregon Phoenix, Ariz.
Emma Morris Stanford Haymarket, Va.
Sophie Moore UCLA Encinitas, Calif.
Natalie Myszkowski UCLA Manhattan Beach, Calif.
Jessie Smith UCLA San Diego, Calif.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.