Leinster Rugby | Eight Leinster players named to start for Ireland U20’s v England U20’s

head coach Richie Murphy has announced the Ireland U20 team for Tuesday night’s U20 Six Nations Summer Series match against England at the Payanini Rugby Center in Verona (kick-off 7pm Irish time, live on the Six Nations YouTube channel).

Leinster Rugby are well represented with eight players named in the starting 15.

Murphy has made four changes in personnel to his starting XV for the round 3 fixture, with Ethan CoughlanScott WilsonAdam McNamee and Lorcan McLoughlin coming into the side.

Patrick CampbellAitzol King and Dylan O’Grady continue in the back three, with Fionn Gibbons and Daniel Hawkshaw named in midfield. Munster scrum-half Coughlan returns to the side to partner Sam Prendergast in the half backs.

In the pack, Wilson comes into the front row alongside George Hadden and James McCormickwith McNamee selected to pack down alongside Conor O’TighearnaighDiarmuid Mangan switches from the second row to blindside flanker, with McLoughlin completing the back row alongside captain Reuben Crothers

Murphy has plenty of options on the bench with teams allowed to name an extended matchday squad of 26 players for the tournament in Italy.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v England Under-20s, Under-20 Six Nations Summer Series – Pool A, Payanini Rugby Centre, Tuesday, July 5, kick-off 8pm local time/7pm Irish time):

15. Patrick Campbell (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
14. Aitzol King (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
13. Fionn Gibbons (UCD RFC/Leinster)
12. Daniel Hawkshaw (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
11. Dylan O’Grady (UCD RFC/Leinster)
10. Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
9. Ethan Coughlan (Shannon RFC/Munster)
1. George Hadden (Gorey RFC/Clontarf FC/Leinster)
2. James McCormick (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
3. Scott Wilson (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)*
4. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD RFC/Leinster)
5. Adam McNamee (Malone RFC/Ulster)*
6. Diarmuid Mangan (UCD RFC/Leinster)
7. Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster) (capt)
8. Lorcan McLoughlin (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)*


16. Dominic Rhys Heys (Gloucester Hartpury Rugby/IQ Rugby)
17. Kieran Ryan (Shannon RFC/Munster)
18. Darragh McSweeney (Shannon RFC/Munster)
19. Charlie Irvine (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
20. Ronan O’Sullivan (Highfield RFC/Munster)
21. Andrew O’Mahony (UCC RFC/Munster)
22. Reece Malone (Loughborough University/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
23. George Coomber (UCC RFC/Munster)
24. Shay McCarthy (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
25. Josh Hanlon (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
26. George Shaw (Cardiff University/IQ Rugby).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *